Something for the weekend – Episode #50 – Marvin Gaye “What’s Going On”

I am not sure that when I started this Something For The Weekend series of reviews, I would have imagined to get to episode #50. I must confess I had a tremendous pleasure doing so, especially during that weird year we just experienced. Loving music with all my heart and soul, I realised this is probably a never-ending thing and that I will keep on putting my modest contribution by reviewing many more records for a long period of time. So, for episode #50, ladies and gentlemen, I give you a very special one this time.

Marvin Gaye – “What’s Going On1971

To describe this record as a very special one would not surprise anyone. But although this is indeed one of the most important releases of all times, this is a record which is very close to my heart as well. First of all, it looks I have always heard ”What’s Going On” since very young. I still have in my music collection the ‘musicassette’ (as it was called then) that my father bought in the UK and although I did not have a very clear understanding of it all, being a very young boy, I clearly remember listening to these songs in the car while travelling. Then, I have no shame to confess that I am what I am thanks to this incredible 30th November, 1985 New Musical Express issue which I received just a couple of weeks after starting my subscription. For UK readers, you need to understand that reading the NME while growing up in France at the time was one of the few possibilities to get news about great music… This issue made me discover all the greats from Roxy Music to Van Morrison, from Television to Bob Dylan or again from The Clash to Sly And The Family Stone (full list here). And which record was voted as best one ever by the 1985 NME writers? Well, I guess you know…

I recommend to those not really familiar with Marvin Gaye to dig further in all his music production as this is a fascinating one. After starting as a session drummer for Tamla Motown, he went on recording fantastic singles in the 1960’s, either solo or duetting with female partners, the most amazing being the legendary Tammi Terrell who unfortunately died too young from a brain tumour. Marvin Gaye never really recovered from it ; these sad news plus an unhappy marriage with Berry Gordy‘s sister and stories he got from his brother Franck coming back from the Vietnam War were reasons to bring to the world such a masterful record. ”What’s Going On” is an extraordinary piece of work on different levels. For a start, the lyrics and themes (poverty, war, racial inequalities, ecology) are very much the same as today…although it was released fifty years ago. Then, the flow of the record is very peculiar and the production has not aged at all: tracks are often blurred into one another, which gives a dreamy feeling. Finally, Marvin Gaye’s voice is beautiful and very moving, while the many musicians playing throughout are immense. His career until his sad passing in 1984 would bring other extraordinary songs and albums but his personal life would become so difficult to deal with that he would never climb such musical heights…but who would? A record to listen to again and again.

Format: Cassette/CD/LP&CD 40th Anniversary Reissue Box Set Bought in: 1971/1993/2011 To be noted: Although new comers to this album should definitely listen to the classic version that was released in 1971, I recommend to fans to discover the so-called Detroit Mix which brings a new perspective… especially regarding the way his NFL Detroit Lions buddies are recorded! Rating: 10.5/10

One thought on “Something for the weekend – Episode #50 – Marvin Gaye “What’s Going On”

Leave a comment